RRI Conferences

Interested in hosting a Reach to Recovery International Breast Cancer Support Conference?

Reach to Recovery International is currently accepting applications to host the 20th RRI Breast Cancer Support Conference in 2021! Please note that RRI Breast Cancer Support Conferences are large in scale and the official language is English. A copy of the Selection Criteria for bid proposals can be downloaded below:

RRI also welcome bids from organizations interested in hosting smaller scale, regional conferences that are suitable to our delegates.

2019 RRI Conference to be held in Prague, the Czech Republic

The next Reach to Recovery International Breast Cancer Support Conference will be held in Prague, the capital city of the Czech Republic, on 12 – 15 June 2019! The conference will be hosted by the Alliance of Women with Breast Cancer (AWBC), which serves as an umbrella organization for 45 patient groups throughout the Czech Republic and is a member of Europa Donna.

AWBC, with support from the Czech Society of Medical Oncologists, the Association of Czech Breast Radiologists, and Masaryk Memorial Cancer Institute, is developing an in-depth program with the theme “Building Bridges Toward Recovery.” The program will feature presentations from internationally renowned experts in the field of breast cancer support and care. As always, the conference will offer many opportunities for networking, socializing, and sharing best practices.

For the latest information about the conference, or to register to attend or submit an abstract, visit www.reachtorecovery2019.org. For sponsorship information, click here to download the PDF brochure. We look forward to welcoming you to beautiful and historic Prague!

2016 RRI Gathering at the World Cancer Congress – Paris, France

Forty-six Reach to Recovery International delegates took part in the 2016 World Cancer Congress, joining more than 3,200 cancer experts from around the world who gathered in Paris from October 31st through November 3rd.  The Congress featured educational sessions based on five themes: innovations in prevention and screening; quality cancer treatment and diagnosis for all; improving patient and family experiences; optimizing outcomes of health systems; and building capacity for change.

A special Patient Group Pavilion was set up for groups, including Reach to Recovery International and its member groups, that work to ensure access to appropriate treatment and quality of life for patients and survivors.  RRI conducted two sessions at the pavilion, each featuring presentations on Program Successes and Milestones.

RRI also took part in the social events planned just for them.  Just before the opening of the Congress, a special Welcome Reception was held so that RRI delegates could connect and catch up for the first time since the 18th Reach to Recovery International Breast Cancer Support Conference in Beijing.  They gathered again the night before the Congress closed for a farewell dinner.

The 2016 World Cancer Congress was staged by the Union of International Cancer Control and its host organizations, the French League Against Cancer and the Alliance of African & Mediterranean French Speaking Leagues Against Cancer (ALIAM).

2015 RRI Conference – Beijing, China

The 18th Reach to Recovery International Breast Cancer Support Conference held in September 2015 in Beijing, China was a great success! Hosted by the Chinese Cancer Rehabilitation Society (CCRS), more than 600 delegates experienced a truly memorable event held at the China National Convention Center in the Olympic Village of Beijing! Delegates learned, laughed, shared and made new friends, embracing the conference theme, “Together we are stronger!”

The program featured an outstanding group of invited speakers who presented inspiring workshops and informative plenary lectures, supported by more than 50 international abstract presenters who shared their stories about survival, community support, treatment and much more.

Click here to see the photos from the conference!

Click here to see the highlights video from the conference!


Past Reach to Recovery International Conferences

  • Beijing, China (2015)
  • Cape Town, South Africa (2013)
  • Taipei, Taiwan (2011)
  • Brisbane, Australia (2009)
  • Stockholm, Sweden (2007)
  • Athens, Greece (2005)
  • Lisbon, Portugal (2003)
  • Grado, Italy (2000)
  • Ljubljana, Slovenia (1998)
  • Stockholm, Sweden (1996)
  • Spain (1994)
  • Trieste, Italy (1992)
  • Luxembourg (1990)
  • France (1988)
  • Israel (1986)
  • Dublin, Ireland (1984)
  • Switzerland (1982)
  • Copenhagen, Denmark (1980)

Past Asia-Pacific Regional Conferences

  • Mumbai, India (2006)
  • Singapore (2004)
  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (2002)


Two major awards are presented at each Reach to Recovery International Conference, the Terese Lasser Award and the Health Professional Medal. Terese Lasser was the first-ever Reach to Recovery volunteer and founder of the Reach to Recovery movement. The Terese Lasser Award is conferred on a RRI volunteer who has introduced, initiated, or contributed to the development of a new Reach to Recovery program in an exceptional way.

The Health Professional Medal is conferred on outstanding health professionals who have facilitated voluntary breast cancer support program, encouraged and supported volunteers, aided recognition of volunteers by their communities, and supported volunteers’ endeavors to spread their activities to new communities.

Terese Lasser Award Recipients

  • Sofia Abreu, Portugal (2015)
  • Mary Onyango, Kenya (2013)
  • Ranjit Kaur, Malaysia (2011)
  • Gloria Lin, Taiwan (2009)
  • Maria Cunha Matos, Portugal (2007)
  • Ann Steyn, South Africa (2005)
  • Henriette Nesbitt de Almeida, Portugal (2003)
  • Takako Watt, Japan (2000)
  • Francoise Van Schuylenbergh, Belgium (1998)
  • Terttu Mertanen, Finland (1996)
  • Helega Flatauer, Brazil (1994)
  • Luisa Marse, Belgium  (1992)
  • Denise Escudier, France (1990)
  • Lea Marador, Israel (1988)
  • Margot Genoa, Romania (1986)

Health Professional Medal Recipients

  • Marcia Watts, USA (2015)
  • Jenny Edge, South Africa (2013)
  • Jacqueline Whang-Peng, Taiwan (2011)
  • Chen Har Yip, Malaysia (2009)
  • Olwyn Ryan, Ireland (2007)
  • Tom Hudson, Ireland (2005)
  • Rajendra A Badwe, India (2003)
  • Mary Murray, Ireland (2000)
  • Krystyna Mika, Poland (1998)
  • Graeme Brien, Australia (1996)
  • Vegelji Pirc, Ljubljana (1994)
  • Eugeny Demin and Valentina Chulkora, Russia (1992)
  • Raymond Barmont, French Cancer League (1990)
  • A Holleb, USA (1988)
  • O Jallut, Switzerland (1986)
  • P Denoix, France (1984)

Comments are closed.